We have been around for over 50 years. The Water Sector in Lagos State evolved when potable water supply was under the mandate of the Federal Ministry of Works. The first water works were at Iju and were mean to supply water to the colonial residents at Ikoyi. When Lagos State was formed in 1967, the responsibility for water supply was transferred from the Federal to State Government. In 1980, the LSG set up the Lagos State Water Management Board (LSWMB) which was backed by an enabling edict in 1985. LSWMB would later be elevated to the Lagos State Water Corporation (LWSC) by the 1994 edict and later by the Lagos Water Corporation law of 2003. The 2003 law was repealed in 2004 by the Lagos Water Sector Law that established the Lagos Water Corporation (LWC) as an asset holding company

Read more



Pump House at Iju Waterworks


Press Room

How can we help you?